To My Valentine

 

Image

The word “Valentine” has two meanings. It can imply a card sent or given to a sweetheart) on Saint Valentine’s Day. It can also indicate any particular person, especially a sweetheart, chosen to receive a greeting on Saint Valentine’s Day.

That’s the meaning google gave me. But what’s Valentine for me? Aside from me not having a dinner date or not having flowers like most women like me is anxiously waiting for at this time of the year.

Honestly, before I used to really believe that Valentines day is only for lovers like married couples, those with boyfriends or girlfriends and not so much for single (figuratively and literally speaking haha!) people like me.

But is it really? I’d like to think it’s not, well not because I am trying to make myself feel good but if this day is supposed to be expressed and celebrated because of love then it can be for everyone right? Because all of us are gifted with the ability to share and receive love.

Quoting our worship leader earlier; she said this “Love isn’t love till you give it away”. So if you have chosen to love then you can choose to give the same love to every person you meet every single day. Then there’s no reason for single people like me to feel miserable or bitter because we always have the option to choose to feel the love with or without a romantic partner.

I remembered the sharing of one of the prettiest face and the nicest smile I saw at the feast. She shared how God has embraced her and made her realize how beautiful she is inside and out. Her journey made a major impact in me simply because I can relate to what she has to battle with to finally see her self worth in the eyes of God. That hit me. And made me realize that it’s only me who thinks I’m not worth all the efforts and that maybe I deserve to be single. After hearing that I finally saw what God has been showing me all this time. That  He has been filling my love tank because of the affirmation people around me are giving. Then I realized. Yes, my love language is that. Words of affirmation and God has been loudly telling me how much He loves me. 

I remember meeting a former officemate on my way to work yesterday and he told me this. “Kumusta ka na? Gumaganda ka yata ah!” And he said it with a big smile on his face. I told myself, wait I didn’t put any make up on? What’s in my face?

Then I went to work that day filled with so much love simply because I realized that it’s the amount of love I receive and shares that cause my face to lighten up and stay beautiful in the eyes of other people. As a matter of fact, I am God’s princess and definitely God’s priceless Valentine.

Yes, you heard it right. I’m God’s favorite date because He eagerly waits for me every single day to just talk to Him and tell Him how did my day go. Just like any romantic partner; God has been courting me all this time. He gives me sweet surprises which you won’t even think of. As simple as the beautiful smile of my crush, the loving hug and care of my CBCG or even the high energy of my WFA dancemin family.

All these are tokens of God’s love that I now choose to acknowledge and thank Him for. It’s His grace that fills my love tank until it overflows.

I have a choice and I choose to celebrate with my ultimate Valentine. The very source of the love I share.

So to My Valentine; thank you for loving me unconditionally. I choose to go out of my way to love You by loving the life you gave me  and all the people that you blessed me to journey with.

I know that you’ll blessed me with a tangible version of your love really soon. Someone who’s hand I am meant to hold and someone who I can worship and glorify you with. Someone who’ll show me that our love for You will be our greatest gift to each other.

I love you God. Thank you for making my Valentine far more special than what I can think of. Amen.

 

 

One thought on “To My Valentine”

  1. I love it! Thanks for sharing this with me..
    You’re a good writer din pala.. 🙂
    Basta, be hopeful in the Lord.. A beautiful person such as you are, deserves nothing but the best. However, know that the “best” comes in so many different forms. Continue to pray that God may help you identify if such “best” is already for you…

    Continue to flash that smile, my sister.. God delights in seeing you filled with joy..

    Love yah!

Leave a Reply

