Claiming the Power to Be

Image

“When I stand before God at the end of my life, I would hope that I would not have a single bit of talent left, and could say, ‘I used everything you gave me.” – Erma Bombeck

I am reading a book called “What’s Your Life’s Masterpiece” by Marian Mencias and one thing that attracted me to buy the book is the thought of learning from people who made their own life a masterpiece! Imagine Bo Sanchez: not only is he a dynamic preacher and founder of the Light of Jesus Family, but he is also a best-selling author. I am forever a fan and one thing that had made me stay with the Feast is because I get to hear talks from preachers who learned from him.

In our second talk, Toxic Thinking, one powerful message I got is this: “Your imagination is the remote control of your emotions”. One of the things I have been imagining lately is how will I be able to go back doing what I loved to do in the past. I have served another charismatic community for 15 years but had to leave one day because I was too broken to even share anything. I was too caught up with my own wounds and despair over failed relationships, wrong decisions, and piled up guilt feelings.

Back then, I love serving God by being one of those leaders who give talks for our Christian Life Program, chapter assemblies, and singles’ retreats. But they say you can’t give what you don’t have. And when my negative self-talk had consumed me, I had no choice but to step back and say “no” to one invitation after another; simply because I know I had to fix myself and be healed completely before I stand in front of people again to speak and share about God’s goodness and love.

Just like what Bro. J shared on how we deal with negative situations in our lives, we need to step back from the situation and change the scene. It took me some time before I was able to let go of all the excess baggage I have inside of me: those negative self-talks that had crushed my self-worth and buried my dreams. But it was worth the wait and it was indeed a blissful feeling to be in control of your emotions and be brave enough to choose to love amidst struggles and challenges in our lives. Being in a community doesn’t exempt you from getting hurt or from failing even your own expectations. Experiencing healing doesn’t shield you from the pains and negative feelings. But just like what we have learned from the other talk, you can feel the negative feelings but know that it has an expiry date.

Am I experiencing disappointments and do I still feel discouraged at times? My answer is definitely “yes”, but I can proudly say things are a lot different now because I have learned the power of positive thinking and making that shift every time. And more important than changing the situation is changing your imagination. Since you have no control over other people’s reactions, you need to shift and remember that you are far bigger than the negative feedback you heard or the rejection you received from someone. It’s all about changing your mindset and sticking to it no matter how impossible the situation is.

Our feelings are a product of our emotions, and Bro. J said that if we repeat the thought long enough it becomes an emotion. We need to change what we are imagining and it will change our emotions.

One of the best thing that happened to me after experiencing healing through the Neuro-linguistic Programming was that part of my one-on-one session where I imagined my future self getting married and living a happy and contented life with my own family. I saw healed relationships and the dream of giving only the best of myself to the world. Yes, I don’t know how and when but I know God will use me to share His love through speaking to people and inspiring them with how I was able to rise up after failing life. I know it will happen and I am actually taking one tiny step; soon, I will be giving a dance workshop to the dance ministers of Feast Baliwag.

I am both excited and nervous at the same time because it has been 5 years since I have given any talks or much so, a workshop. I love to dance and worship God but to empower other dance ministers, this is me going out of my comfort zone. This is me imagining God’s Glory being revealed through myself. And because I have been declaring it every time I attend the Feast, I will change my mindset of myself and what I can give. I am God’s dancer and I am His powerful champion! And with that I will go out there, take that leap of faith, and give my best. Because I know God created me for greatness even though I live an imperfect life.

Imagine yourself being drenched in God’s blessings and miracles tonight and then be ready to receive it. Have an amazing experience at the Feast!

Leave a Reply

